Tag: Iran

See top-engineering-schools for Iran Population and Geography.

Geography of Tehran, Iran

Geography of Tehran, Iran

According to abbreviationfinder, Tehran is located in the north of Iran, specifically between the coordinates 35 ° 41′46 ″ N 51 ° 25′23 ″ E, on a plain located on a plateau that slopes down towards the south at the foot of the Alborz Mountains. The city has an altitude of 1,191 meters above sea level, but to the south it is 1,100, in its center 1,200 and to the north of 1,700. The city covers an area of 716.9 km².

The city is located in an area where the transition occurs between the barren desert (kavir) and the Alborz mountain range. Therefore, it does not have important aquifer resources and the two most important hydrographic basins that collect the waters that come from the mountains located upstream are located several km away, they are the Karaj basin, to the west, and the Jajerud basin. to the east.

Under the Alborz chain there is a large fault very close to which Tehran is located, but it is not the only one as there are many smaller faults located in the plains of the south of the city, which keeps the entire city at permanent risk of earthquakes..


The location of the city between a mountainous area and a desert basin greatly influences the local climate as the confluence of the cool and semi-humid climate of the mountains with the hot and dry climate of the southern areas of the city, which are almost in direct contact with the Dasht-e Kavir desert, it is harmonized by a climate with warm months in the summer (mid- July to mid- September), where average temperatures range between 38 and 40 ° C and colder months in winter (December and January), where the average temperature reaches -9 ° C. Temperature difference that exists between the mountains and the plains circulates the air from the mountains to the plains at night, and from the plains to the mountains during the day. The rains are very scarce and the few that occur are concentrated during the winter as the summer is very dry.

In general, the climate of Tehran is mainly caused by the influence of three fundamental factors, one is the introduction of winds with hot air and dust from the Dasht-e Kavir desert, located south of the city, another factor is the chain Alborz mountain, located north of the city, which acts as a kind of barrier that stops the rains coming from the Caspian Sea and the third important factor is the western monsoon clouds that partially reduce the effects of the desert climate.


In 1788, the city had 15,000 residents, but already in 1950, it had grown to 1.05 million residents, and a few years later in 1995, due to its accelerated growth, there were already more than 6.8 million residents. those who lived in it. This accelerated population growth is mainly due to the administrative and industrial development of the city and immigration from other parts of the country. See population of Iran.

Currently the city of Tehran has a population of more than 8 million residents according to the last official census of 1996.

The city has a cosmopolitan air, Tehran shelters diverse ethnic and linguistic groups from all over the country and represents the ethnic-linguistic composition of Iran. It should be noted that more than 60% of the population of Tehran was born outside the city and therefore is not native to the place.

The minorities of the city include Kurds, Mazandarani, Gilaks, Luros, Baluchos, Qashqai, Turks, Arabs, Armenians, Bakhtiari, Assyrians, Talysh, Jews etc. There are also a number of other established minorities, who speak Punjabi & Domari and Romani. A number of Levantine Arabic speakers from Lebanon and Syria also live in Tehran.

The residents of Tehran are mostly Shiites and the minority is Sunni, Zoroastrian, Baha’i, Jewish and Christian ; including adherents of the Catholic Assyrian Church of the East, Armenian Apostolic Church, Catholic Church, Chaldean Catholic Church, Protestant Church, Church Irani, Evangelical Church Armenia, Church Jama’at-e Rabbani, Church of the Brethren Armenia, Russian Orthodox Church, and Churches presbyterian.

There are also small groups of Hindus, Buddhists, Sikhs, Mandaeans, Spiritualists, Atheists, Azalis, Yazidis, Yarsan, Septimans, Secular Muslims, and many followers of Sufism.


The metropolis of Tehran has increased enormously in area since the second half of the 20th century and today it already covers several departments of the province of Tehran. Most of the city is occupied by the department of Tehran but the gigantic city also extends through the departments of Eslamshahr, Ray and Shemiranat.

The department of Tehran borders the department of Shemiranat to the north, Damavand to the east, Eslamshahr, Pakdasht and Ray to the south, and Karaj and Shahriar to the west.

The municipality of Tehran is divided into 22 municipal districts, each with its own administrative center. Which are numbered to be identified.

Tehran is divided into 112 neighborhoods, among which the following stand out: Abbas Abad, Afsariyeh, Amir Abad, Bagh Feiz, Baharestan, Darakeh, Darband, Dardasht, Dar Abad, Darrous, Dibaji, Djannat Abad, Elahiyeh, Evin, Farmanieh, Gheytarieh, Gholhak, Gisha, Gomrok, Hasan Abad, Jamaran, Javadiyeh, Jomhuri, Jordan, Lavizan, Nazi Abad, Niavaran, Park-e Shahr, Pasdaran, Punak, Ray, Sadeghiyeh, Shahrara, Shahr-e ziba, Shahrak-e Gharb, Shemiran, Tajrish, Tehranpars, Vanak, Velenjak, Yaft Abad and Zafaraniyeh. Although administratively separated Ray, Shemiran and Karaj are often considered part of the city of Tehran.

Tehran, Iran