South Carolina Overview

South Carolina Overview

According to Abbreviationfinder, South Carolina was one of the Thirteen Colonies that rebelled against the British government in the American War of Independence. And he became the eighth State of the Union in May of 1788. It is known as The Palmetto State, a nickname that originated during the war for independence. Palmetto is an English word that in Spanish means palm tree. At the beginning of the revolution, British forces tried unsuccessfully to capture a fort made of palm wood.

It is one of the 50 states of the United States of America, located in the southern region of the country. Despite its small territorial extension, it is one of the national leaders in textile production and the second largest tobacco producer in the United States, only surpassed by North Carolina.

Geographic location

Its area is 82,931 km 2. It has a Latitude 32 or 4’30 “N at 35 or 12’N and a Longitude of 78 or 0’30” W at 83 or 20’W. Its capital is Columbia with a population of 4,407,709 residents.


South Carolina limited to the north with Carolina of the North, to the east by the Atlantic Ocean and the southwest with Georgia. The main river in South Carolina is the Santee River, whose watershed covers about 40% of the State. It is also the longest river in the state. The largest lakes in the state were created through dams.

It has a forested plain, with slightly more undulating terrain in the interior and the foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains in the northwest. The coastal area is very low, with large marshes and beaches with quite warm water due to the Gulf Stream.


The climate is hot and humid, with long summers and short, mild winters. However, winds from the north sometimes bring snow and lower temperatures below zero degrees. Therefore, heating in homes and warm clothing is necessary.

The coastal area of ​​the state is affected by hurricanes from August to October. Normally they are not more than strong winds but there have been some devastating ones, such as Hurricane Hugo, which in 1989 devastated a large part of the coastal area, especially Charleston, and which reached the interior of the state.


South Carolina is divided into 46 counties, listed below:

· Aiken· Allendale

· Anderson

· Bamberg

· Barnwell

· Beaufort

· Berkeley

· Calhoun

· Charleston

· Cherokee

· Chester

· Chesterfield

· Clarendon

· Colleton

· Darlington

· Dillon· Dorchester

· Edgefield

· Fairfield

· Florence

· Georgetown

· Greenville

· Greenwood

· Hampton

· Horry

· Jasper

· Kershaw

· Lancaster

· Laurens

· read

· Lexington· Marion

· Marlboro

· McCormick

· Newberry

· Oconee

· Orangeburg

· Pickens

· Richland

· Greets

· Spartanburg

· Sumter

· Union

· Williamsburg

· York.

Economic development

South Carolina began to industrialize rapidly beginning in the 1880s. Various wealthy state landowners built various textile factories, with the income from cotton produced on their own farms. Other companies settled there, taking advantage of the abundance of raw materials and cheap labor. South Carolina’s industrialization continued throughout the first three decades of the 20th century. The State became one of the largest poles of the national textile industry.

Social development


South Carolina has 3.5 million residents. The most important cities are Columbia the capital of the state, Charleston with one of the most beautiful historical centers of the Low country, and Greenville, near the mountains, is the most important city of the Upstate. Each of these cities has a metropolitan area of ​​about 500,000 residents. The rest of the population is distributed in small cities and towns.

South Carolina Overview

Columbia (South Carolina)

According to, Columbia is the capital of the state of South Carolina, in the United States. It is the largest city in the state, located in Richland County and Lexington County.


Columbia became the new capital in 1786 by decision of the South Carolina Legislative Assembly, in an attempt to reduce the tensions that existed between the residents who lived on the coast, and those who populated the interior. The former capital was located on the coast, in Charleston. The assembly named the new capital in honor of Christopher Columbus.

Economic development

Columbia is the distribution center for an agricultural region that produces peaches, bean sprouts, and sugar beets, and manufactures nuclear power plant equipment, steel products, textiles, clothing, and artwork.


Along the broad avenues of Columbia are historic sites, ranging from a pre-Civil War mansion to the former home of a slave who bought his freedom, as well as museums. Columbia has 92 hotels, which are characterized by the quality of service and great comfort. The Hilton Garden is the most visited.

Social development


In the 2012 census it had a population of 131,686 residents


The city of Columbia is home to the University of South Carolina (1801), the Columbia School (1854), the Benedict School (1870), Allen University (1870), the Columbia Bible School (1923) and the Southern Lutheran Theological Seminary (1830).


The city of Columbia is located at the coordinates 33 ° 59′27 ″ N 81 ° 4′4 ″ W.


Columbia has a total area of ​​349.5 km²

Architectural buildings

Some places of interest are the State Legislative Building (1907), the Chapelle Administrative Building (1922), designed by architect John Anderson Lankford, and the Columbia Museum of Art. Columbia’s Mann-Simons Cottage was built in approximately 1850 by Celia Mann, a freed slave, who later established one of South Carolina’s first black churches after the Civil War. It currently houses a museum of African American culture.

Comments are closed.