North Carolina Geography and Cities

North Carolina Geography and Cities

According to Abbreviationfinder, North Carolina borders Tennessee to the west, South Carolina to the south, Georgia to the southwest, Virginia to the north, and the Atlantic Ocean to the east. North Carolina consists of three major geographic areas: the Coastal Plain, which occupies the eastern part by 45%, the Piedmont region, which occupies 35%, and the Appalachians and Foothills. The eastern tip of the state contains the Outer Banks, a chain of narrow sand islands that form a barrier between the Atlantic Ocean and waterways. The Outer Banks forms two straits: the Straits of Albemarle in the north and the The Pamlico Strait in the south is the two largest landlocked straits in the United States. The coastal plain is relatively uneven, with rich soils, ideal for growing Tobacco, Glycine max | soy, Cucumis melo | melons and Cotton. The North Carolina Coastal Plain is mostly rural-occupied, with few or even no large cities. The Agriculture is an important economic sector. The main rivers in this area, the Neuse, the Tar, the Pamlico and the Cape Fear, tend to be slow and wide.


The coastal plain is under the influence of the Atlantic Ocean, which maintains mild temperatures in winter and moderate in summer. In summer, the maximum temperature on the coast averages less than 32 ° C. In winter, the coast enjoys the mildest temperatures in the state, with daytime temperatures rarely falling below 5 ° C. On the coast it snows about three days a year, having years without the presence of Snow.

The Atlantic Ocean has less influence on the Piedmont region, and as a result, its summers are hotter and winters are colder than those on the coast. In Piedmont, the maximum daytime temperature in summer normally averages 32 ° C. While it is not common in North Carolina for temperatures to exceed 37 ° C, when it does, the highest temperatures are recorded in the lower areas of Piedmont, especially around the city of Fayetteville.

Politic and government

The Governor, Lieutenant Governor, and eight elected executive department heads form the State Council. Ten other executive department heads appointed by the North Carolina Governor make up the Cabinet. The current governor of the state, Beverly Perdue, belongs to the Democratic Party, and is the first woman to hold that position in this state.

The North Carolina General Assembly, or Legislature, is made up of two houses: the 50-member Senate and the 120-member House of Representatives. The Supreme Court of North Carolina is the highest court of appeal in the state; It is made up of a total of seven judges. The Court of Appeals is the only intermediate court in the state and is made up of fifteen judges.

North Carolina Geography

Most important cities

According to, the major cities include

  • Asheville
  • Charlotte
  • Durham
  • Greensboro
  • Greenville
  • Raleigh
  • Wilmington
  • Winston-Salem
  • Cary

Charlotte (North Carolina)

Charlotte It is a city located in Mecklenburg County , in the US state of North Carolina, near the border with South Carolina. Headquarters of the county of Mecklenburg, it is the most populous city in the state, being known as an outstanding financial center since two of the largest banks in the United States have their corporate headquarters in the city. Incorporated in 1768 and named after the Queen of Great Britain, Charlotte of Mecklenburg-Strelitz (Charlotte in English). The educational system is managed through public schools.


According to the United States Census Bureau, the city has an area of ​​629 km 2, of which 627.5 km 2 is solid land and the remaining 1.6 km 2 is made up of water (0.25%).


It is located in the humid subtropical climate zone. It has mild winters and hot, humid summers. During the month of January, the minimum temperatures in the mornings are, on average, 0 ° C and the maximum averages are 11 ° C, while in the month of July, the averages range between 22 and 32 ° C. It receives about 1105mm of rain per year.


In 2004, there were 614,330 people, and 801,137 in the county as a whole (Mecklenburg). The population density is 861.9 residents / km 2.

Metropolitan area

The metropolitan area is comprised of Mecklenburg, Gaston, Lincoln, Cabarrus, Union, Iredell, Cleveland, Anson, Rowan, and Stanly counties in North Carolina. It crosses the state border arriving in South Carolina with the counties of York, Lancaster and Chester. The population of the metropolitan area was 1,897,034 in 2004.

Durham (North Carolina)

Durham. City belonging to the state of North Carolina, in the United States. It is located in County Durham. It is known for being the home of Duke University. It is the fourth most populous city in the state, and its metropolitan area is inhabited by 451,212 people, according to the 2005 census.


It is located at the coordinates 35 ° 59′19 ″ N 78 ° 54′26 ″ W, at 123 meters above sea level. According to the United States Census Bureau, the city has a total area of ​​245.8 km 2. 245.1 km 2 is land and 0.7 km 2 (0.29%) is water.


According to the 2000 census, there were 201,726 people, 74,981 homes and 43,563 families residing in the city. The population density was 763.1 / km 2. 45.50% of the residents were white, 43.81% black, and the rest of various ethnicities.


The city was founded in 1853, with the intention of creating a train station midway between Wilson and Hillsborough.

It grew very slowly before the Civil War, but after the Civil War growth accelerated, in part thanks to the installation of a major tobacco factory.

Its name is due to the doctor Bartlett S. Durham, who donated land for the railroad passage through the city.

Comments are closed.