Dhaka, Bangladesh

Dhaka, Bangladesh

According to abbreviationfinder, Dhaka is the largest city in Bangladesh and the capital of the country, it is also the capital of the District of Dhaka. The city located on the banks of the Buriganga River is the political, cultural and economic center of the country and has a population of more than 11 million residents in its metropolitan area, which is why it is considered one of the most populated cities in the world.

The current modernity of the city was carried out, to a large extent, by the British authorities who soon made it the second largest city in Bengal, after Calcutta.

With the independence of India, Dhaka became the administrative capital of East Pakistan, and later became the capital of Bangladesh when the state became independent in 1972.

Today the city enjoys the highest literacy rate in Bangladesh and a diverse economy.


As far back as the 7th century there were human settlements in the Dhaka area. Before the coming to power of the Sena dynasty in the 9th century and the region where the city is located had been ruled by the Buddhist kingdom of Kamarupa as well as by the Pala Empire, after this period in power of the Sena dynasty, Dhaka It was ruled by Turks and Afghans, who came from the Delhi Sultanate, and was later occupied by the Mongols in 1608.

Many believe that the name Dhaka (Dhaka: this is how it is called in Bengali) originated in the 12th century, when Ballal Sena established the temple of the goddess Dhakeshwari in this area, associated with which it is also estimated that in this period Bengalla began to be called to all that region including the space that included this city and its surroundings.

In 1608, mainly due to the development achieved and the significant growth of its population, the city was proclaimed the capital of Bengal, by order of the Mughal kingdom and according to historical data the greatest expansion of the city under Mongol rule took place under the command of General Shaista Khan..


Dhaka is located on the east bank of the Buri Ganga River and near the Ganges Delta in central Bangladesh, specifically between the coordinates of 23 ° 42′0 ″ N 90 ° 22′30 ″ E? /? 23.7, 90.375 covering a total area of 815.85 km².

Dhaka’s climate is hot, rainy and humid. The city is within the monsoon climate zone. The average temperature is 25 ° C, which varies from 18 ° C in January to 29 ° C in August. Approximately 80% of the rains occur between May and September with an average of 1,854 mm.

This Asian region, which is at sea level, which makes it very vulnerable to flooding, especially during the rainy period with the strong influence of monsoons and cyclones, is characterized by tropical vegetation and humid soil.

The rapid expansion of the city has caused the environment of Dhaka to be seriously threatened by pollution and industrial activities, especially air and water pollution, which is increasing due to urban and industrial waste and affects to a great extent the public health and quality of life of its residents, also threatening the biodiversity and natural habitats of the region.


The city has grown considerably with a population of more than 11 million residents in its metropolitan area, which is why it is considered one of the most populated cities in the world. See population of Bangladesh.


Dhaka has the most developed urban infrastructure in the country and is the commercial center of Bangladesh, for which most of the country’s skilled workers are employed in businesses and industries located in the metropolitan area of the city. In recent decades, Dhaka has experienced extraordinary modernization in the area of transportation, communications and public works, as well as a greater presence of tourists and investment from large companies.

Throughout history the city has attracted large numbers of migrant workers.


Dhaka has seven (7) main Thanas and fourteen (14) Auxiliary Thanas under its jurisdiction.

Subdivisions of Dhaka in Thanas with their area in km², their population (1991 Census) and density (inhab / km²).

Badda Surface 16.78 km², Population: 157,924 residents, Density: 9,411 (residents / km²).

Cantonment: Surface: 29.9 km², Population: 190,472 residents, Density: 6,362 (residents / km²).

Demra: Area: 47.3 km², Population: 521,160 residents, Density: 11,007 (residents / km²).

Dhanmondi: Surface: 9.74 km², Population: 201,529 residents, Density: 20,691 (residents / km²).

Gulshan: Surface: 53.59 km², Population: 281,337 residents, Density: 5,250 (residents / km²).

Hazaribagh: Surface 3.58 km², Population: 52,338 residents, Density: 35,247 (residents / km²).

Kafrul: Area 17.8 km², Population: 164,396 residents, Density: 9,236 (residents / km²).

Kamrangir: Char surface 2.67 km² 25,827 residents, Density: 8,999 (residents / km²).

Khilgaon: Surface 14.0 km², Population: 59,248 residents, Density: 9,861 (residents / km²).

Kotwali: Area 2.07 km², Population: 210,504 residents, Density: 101,693 (residents / km²).

Lalbagh: Surface 9.14 km², Population: 401,387 residents, Density: 43,915 (residents / km²).

Mirpur: Surface: 58.66 km², Population: 641,630 residents, Density: 10,938 (residents / km²).

Mohammadpur: Area: 11.65 km², Population: 316,203 residents, Density: 27,142 (residents / km²).

Motijheel: Surface: 4.69 km², Population: 223,676 residents, Density: 47,692 (residents / km²).

Pallabi: Surface: 17.0 km², Population: 364,000 residents, Density: 21,412 (residents / km²).

Ramna: Surface: 7.85 km², Population: 195,167 residents, Density: 24,862 (residents / km²).

Sabujbagh: Area: 18.2 km², Population: 354,989 residents, Density: 19,526 (residents / km²).

Shyampur: Surface: 2.32 km², Population: 60,152 residents, Density: 25,927 (residents / km²).

Sutrapur: Surface: 4.38 km², Population: 307,483 residents, Density: 70,202 (residents / km²).

Tejgaon: Surface: 8.75 km², Population: 220,012 residents, Density: 25,144 (residents / km²).

Uttara: Surface: 36.9 1km², Population: 108,077 residents, Density: 2,928 (residents / km²).

Dhaka: Surface: 815.85 km², Population: 5,057,371 residents, Density: 6,918 (residents / km²).

Dhaka, Bangladesh

Comments are closed.