Denver, Colorado

Denver, Colorado

According to, Denver is the capital of the state of Colorado, in the United States. Known for its height (1,609 m high) as the Mile High City, it stretches alongside Denver County and is part of the greater metropolitan area that also includes the city of Boulder. Denver is the manufacturing, commercial, financial and transportation center of a major RockyMountain ranching and mining region.


According to Abbreviationfinder, 15,000 years ago, nomadic hunters came to Colorado; Arapajo, Comanche, and Kiowa peoples migrated to the pastures. In 1776 the Spanish friar Francisco Atanasio Domínguez in the company of Francisco Silvestre Vélez de Escalante, explored the western region of the state. In 1858 gold was discovered in the South Platte River, today downtown Denver, prompting a massive influx of immigrants that made the city a business base for prospectors in the region. From 1864 to 1869 there were struggles against the indigenous peoples, mainly that provoked authentic massacres. The armysubdued most of the prairie tribes in the year 1869, ensuring the white colonization of the area.


The Colorado Territory was created on February 28, 1861; Arapahoe County was formed on November 1, 1861, and the City of Denver was incorporated on November 7, 1861. In 1865, the City of Denver would become the territorial capital. With its newfound importance, the city would shorten its name to just Denver. 1 August of 1876, Denver became the capital of the state of Colorado, when he was admitted to the Union.

Between 1880-1895 the city experienced a large increase in corruption, with mobsters like Soapy Smith working with the collusion of elected officials and police, controlling elections, gambling, and gangs. In 1887, the forerunner of international charity United Way was formed in Denver by local religious leaders who raised funds and coordinated various charities to help the poor of Denver. In 1890, Denver became the second largest city west of Omaha, but in 1900 it fell to third place behind San Francisco and Los Angeles.

In 1901, the Colorado General Assembly voted to secede from Arapahoe County into three parts: a new consolidated Denver City and County, a new Adams County, and the remainder of Arapahoe County, which was renamed South County of Arapahoe. A ruling by the Colorado Supreme Court and a referendum delayed the creation of the City and County of Denver until 15 November of 1902.

Denver has hosted the Democratic National Convention twice, during 1908, and again in 2008, seizing the opportunity to promote the city’s situation on the national, political, and socioeconomic stage. Denver was selected in 1970 to host the Olympic Games of Winter 1976, coinciding with the celebration of the centenary of Colorado, but in November 1972 the citizens of the state of Colorado voted against the use of public funds to support the Olympics. Later, the Games moved to Innsbruck (Austria). Denver thus has the notoriety to have become the only city that has refused to celebrate an Olympiad after being elected, which has made a subsequent new election difficult. The movement against holding the Games relied heavily on environmental issues and was spearheaded by then-State Representative Richard Lamm, who was subsequently elected three times (1974-1986) as governor of Colorado. Denver has historically been known as the Queen City of the Plains because of its important role in the agricultural industry of the plains regions along the foothills of the Colorado Front Range. Several ships of the United States Navy have been named USS Denver in honor of the city.



It is situated in the center of the Front Range Urban Corridor, between the Rocky Mountains to the west and the High Plains to the east. According to the United States Census Bureau, the city has a total area of 401.3 km², of which 4.1 km² (1.03%) is water. The city and county of Denver is surrounded by three counties: Adams County to the north and east, Arapahoe County to the south and east, and Jefferson County to the west.


Denver has a semi-desert climate with four distinct seasons. Although Denver is located on the Great Plains, the climate of the city and the region is strongly influenced by the proximity of the Mountains. Rockies in the west. The climate is considered to be desert, although, generally mild compared to the mountains to the west and the plains further east, it can be very unpredictable. Before the colonization of the city, the landscape of Denver was mainly made up of prairies and desert lands. Because most of Denver and its suburbs sit in a kind of “bowl,” the city is often sheltered from strong, cold winds. Relatively heavy snow fell in the Denver area in late June and early September. The average temperature in Denver is 10.1 ° C, and the average annual rainfall is 402 mm. The first snow of the season, in general, occurs at the end of October and the last snowfall at the end of April, with an average of 156 cm accumulated throughout the season. The National Meteorological Service registers an annual average of hours of sunshine of 69% of the total possible solar hours

Denver, Colorado

Comments are closed.